Abigail Jones (The Chronicles of Abigail Jones – Book 1)

Written by: Grace Callaway

Recommended by: Tina Folsom

Price at time of purchase: $3.99

Genre: Historical romance, Gothic romance

Give a brief description of the story.

Sheltered bluestocking Abigail Jones hides a terrible curse: she is haunted by demonic visions, terrifying and erotic. When her aunt dies, Abby is forced to find work at the gothic castle Hope End and there she catches the eye of its brooding master, Lord Huxton. Unbeknownst to Abby, Hux’s tormented past drives him to lead a secret life as a demon slayer. As the passion between master and maid blazes, they come to a startling realization: her visions and his quest for vengeance are linked, and they will have to battle the ultimate evil together if their world—and their love—are to survive.

What did you think the author did particularly well?

What I loved about this book was the seamless way the author combined the disparate elements of a steamy historical romance, a compelling mystery, and an exciting paranormal world to create something fresh and different. At the same time, the page-turning plots served to fully develop the relationship between the heroine and hero—and the chemistry between the two is HOT. As many reviewers have said, this author delivers that rare breed of true erotic romance.

What was your favorite thing about the story:

I’m always a sucker for tortured bad boys, and Hux is a delicious example of that. I loved the way the passion and intimacy between Hux and Abby evolved and how they overcame their conflicts to find true love. And the sex scenes sizzled!

Fans of Jane Eyre and Rebecca, so those who like gothic romances—especially sexy ones with a paranormal bent—will love this book. This novel will also appeal to paranormal readers who like dark world-building and demons. In terms of movies, I could see Abigail Jones as a BBC costume drama … only the camera doesn’t fade out at the kiss 😉

Amazon Icon Nook-Icon Kobo-Icon

    No Twitter Messages