Beauty from Pain

Written by: Georgia Cates

Recommended by: Jasinda Wilder

Price at time of purchase: $1.99

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Give a brief description of the story. Laurelyn Prescott is a musician on an extended three-month vacation in Australia with her best friend. She meets Jack McLachlan a handsome and enigmatic man who shocks her with a proposal: spend three months together as no-strings attached, no-questions asked lovers. Fake names. No histories, no follow-up once the three months are over. And oh yeah, he’s filthy rich and promises to maker her every fantasy a reality. She’s insulted…and intrigued. And neither of them find it easy to keep to the terms of the agreement.

What did you think the author did particularly well? The ‘proposal’ that drives this story is well-played out. It could have come across as a typical shallow rich guy ploy for cheap sex as seen in so much recent billionaire romance fiction. But surprisingly, and thankfully, it doesn’t. It gives a sense of urgency to things, since she’s going back the States at the end of three months, and the no identities exchanged bit makes their relationship, their interactions that much more important, rather than it being about their personal-history drama.

What was your favorite thing about the story? Probably the same thing as above. I’m a sucker for character-driven stories, and this definitely was that. The three-month proposal was an effective technique to bring them together, but Laurelyn’s and Jack’s characters are really what make this book so worth reading.

Fans of Up To Me, Collide, and Knight might enjoy this book.

Amazon Icon  Nook-Icon

 

 

    No Twitter Messages