Jokers & Fools

Written by: Esri Allbritten

Recommended by: Colleen Gleason

Price at time of purchase: $2.99

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Give a brief description of the story.

 LeeLee Moldovar’s mother died, leaving debts, her angry Chihuahua, and her abandoned Tarot clients. Unable to find a new job, LeeLee decides give reading Tarot a try. Her first client is super hot, and there’s definite chemistry. The cards say Adrian should dump his newest girlfriend…or is she only reading what she wants to read in them? Things get awkward when LeeLee realizes the hot guy is her best friend’s new boyfriend. Then, during a meeting with a difficult client, a snarky Voice from inside LeeLee starts to give advice she doesn’t anticipate–and can’t control.

LeeLee has to learn where this Voice is coming from. Is it her inner self speaking a truth she (and others) need to hear…or is there something else going on? Like, is she crazy?

What did you think the author did particularly well?

The story was easy to read–the writing is smooth and conversational without a lot of the tropes and cliches one finds in chick-lit type novels. I was easily caught up in the story and found myself coming back to it because it was such a light, pleasant read. I liked LeeLee (although I wanted to shake her a few times when it was clear she had no idea how to handle a difficult dog)–but that was part of her story.

Also–there was no sexual content in the story, no violence, and very little swearing.

What was your favorite thing about the story?

Ms. Allbritten did a great job of interweaving fascinating information about the Tarot and particular Tarot card decks into the story without bogging it down. I really enjoyed that element as well as the gentle romance between LeeLee and the two male love interests.

Fans of The Cards of Life and Death (my romantic suspense novel featuring Tarot cards), as well as other chick-lit or New Adult novels might enjoy this story about a young woman trying to figure out who she really is.

Amazon Icon

 

    No Twitter Messages